It seemed like forever, but it finally happened. Number One is done!!

There are a few things I’d do differently for the next ones, and I have 5 bodies in my closet that have a major change included already, but all in all, this was a smashing success.

  • The P90’s sound like chiming bells, or like mean crunchy things, and a whole lot in between.
  • The sustain is literally forever, I think I somehow tapped into perpetual motion somehow. This is the first guitar I have to palm mute. (Might be the quality of my Dot Studio?)
  • It can be played as an acoustic. I know what you’re thinking, and no, I don’t mean it sounds like a Martin, but I can play this in a small room for friends and family without plugging in.
  • the thing is beautiful. Not like Clapton’s “I want a guitar that can hang in a museum” beautiful, but “wow, I want to play that” beautiful. Tony at Luthier’s workshop did the tobacco spit and setup. http://luthiersworkshop.com/

The list of thanks you’s are predictable, but you don’t get from an idea to done without enablers. Here is a list of mine:

  • God gave me the talent and the opportunity to use it in woodworking.
  • My wife believed I could do it and trusted me to pull it off.
  • My dad was my first shop teacher, showing me how to be a traditionalist outside the box.
  • Brian and Al gave let me try out my ideas after hours.
  • Tony gave me some legitimate luthier horsepower to back up my woodworking.

So here are some pics, the next set are underway and I can’t wait to see how they turn out! If you want to see the whole set, here’s a link to the rest of the pics. http://1drv.ms/10h6YVt

IMG_2331 IMG_2349 IMG_2353

